The Onyx Trio was formed in 2014 out of a deep desire to explore and share the repertoire of the last one hundred years. Ever since Claude Debussy composed his remarkable Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp in 1915, many great composers have tried their hand at this unique and colourful combination of instruments. The Onyx Trio is dedicated to the performance of these works as well as working alongside composers of the 21stcentury in the commissioning and creation of new music for flute, viola, and harp.

The Onyx Trio is comprised of Joy Yeh, harp; Mark Takeshi McGregor, flute; and Marcus Takizawa, viola. All three musicians are fixtures of the BC music scene and can be frequently heard performing with the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Opera Orchestra, Turning Point Ensemble, Aventa Ensemble, and Vancouver New Music Ensemble.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s